Tuesday, July 21, 2009


The 14th CNN African Journalist of the Year Awards has been successfully held in Durban, South Africa over the weekend. The event brought together Africa’s top journalists in a three-day event which was culminated with a gala awards night at the International Convention Centre, Durban. John-Allan Namu, from Kenya, took the top prize at this year's Awards Ceremony. This year the Judges highlighted some excellent work and awarded Commendations in six categories. These journalists received a cash prize and Certificates of Commendation. Below are the journalists including Ghanaian journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.
Anas Aremeyaw Anas, The Crusading Guide, GhanaBiaou Daniel Valérien Adje, ORTB, - Parakou, BeninNicola De Chaud and Odette Schwegler, Backyard Productions for Carte Blanche, South AfricaHazel Friedman, Special Assignment, SABC South AfricaBoniface Mwangi, Expression Today, KenyaElshadai Negash, Freelance for Fortune Newspaper, EthiopiaLuís Nhachote, Zambeze, MozambiqueAlain Zongo, L'Observateur Paalga, Burkina Faso
The overall winner, John-Allan, reporter for Kenya Television Network, won for his stories 'In the shadow of the Mungiki' and 'Inside Story: Scars and Sufurias', which were chosen from among 1665 entries from 38 nations across the African continent.
John-Allan was also a winner in two categories, the Television News Award and Television Features Award. This is a first in the history of the competition.
The Awards, which rotate location each year in tribute to their pan-African credentials, returned to South Africa in 2009 and were held at a Gala ceremony hosted by CNN and MultiChoice at The International Convention Centre, Durban on, Saturday 18th July.
Tony Maddox, Managing Director, CNN International and Nolo Letele, CEO, MultiChoice South Africa, presented John-Allan with the Award.
Chairperson of the judging panel, Azubuike Ishiekwene, Executive Director, Punch Nigeria Limited said: "The reporter went beyond the surface, stripped the stereotype and combined sound, images and research to bring new insight and meaning to the story. It's an excellent example of the kind of journalism that the continent badly needs".
The overall CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2009 wins a cash prize, a visit to CNN Centre in Atlanta, to attend the three-week CNN Journalism Fellowship, along with the prize awarded to all category winners, which consists of a laptop computer, printer and a cash prize.

Winners in the individual competition categories are as follows;ARTS AND CULTURE AWARD, presented by Nkepile Mabuse of CNN on behalf of CNN and MultiChoice, Winner: Tolu Ogunlesi, Contributing Editor for Glide Magazine, NigeriaTitle: What the Truck? ECONOMICS & BUSINESS AWARD, Winner: Ethar El-Katatney, Business Today Egypt Title: The Business of IslamENVIRONMENT AWARD, presented by Richard Uku, Group Head, Brand and Communications, Ecobank Winner: Violet Otindo, K24 Television, KenyaTitle: Nairobi Matters - Embakasi Pt 1 & 2
FRANCOPHONE GENERAL NEWS AWARD: PRINT, presented by Jean-Paul Gérouard, Deputy Editor-in-Chief, France 3Winner: Rajen Bablee, Samedi Plus, MauritiusTitle: Allégation de corruption contre Siddick Chady
FRANCOPHONE GENERAL NEWS AWARD: TV / RADIO, presented by Jean-Paul Gérouard, Deputy Editor-in-Chief, France 3Winner: Viviane Tiendrébéogo, Radiodiffusion Télévision du Burkina Faso Title: De l'or à tout prix
FREE PRESS AFRICA AWARD, presented by Joel Kibazo, Journalist and Media Consultant Winner: Nicaise Kibel'bel Oka, Les Coulisses, The Democratic Republic of the Congo
HIV/AIDS REPORTING IN AFRICA AWARD, presented by Hopewell Rugoho-Chin'ono, CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year 2008Winner: Anna-Maria Lombard, Health-e-News Service for 3rd Degree broadcast on e.tv, South AfricaTitle: Taking on the Quacks
MSD HEALTH & MEDICAL AWARD, presented by Peter de Wet, Acting CEO, Merck Sharp and DohmeWinner: Paul McNally, Men's Health Magazine, South AfricaTitle: Throw Away the Bones
MOHAMED AMIN PHOTOGRAPHIC AWARD, presented by Salim Amin, CEO, A24 MediaWinner: Halden Krog, The Times, South Africa Title: Is This the New South Africa? Flames of Hate, Tents of Shame
PORTUGUESE LANGUAGE GENERAL NEWS AWARD, presented by Arlindo Lopes, Secretary General, Southern African Broadcasting AssociationWinner: Ernesto Bartolomeu, Televisao Publica de AngolaTitle: Battle of Cuito Cuanavale
PRINT GENERAL NEWS AWARD, presented by Krobo Edusei Jnr., Group Executive Chairman, Safebond Africa LimitedWinner: Beauregard Tromp, The Star, South AfricaTitle: Flaming Man Series
RADIO GENERAL NEWS AWARD, presented by Jeff Kupsky, President, Turner Broadcasting System Europe Limited Winner: Sammy Muraya, Radio Metro FM, Kenya Title: Peace or Calm in Mathare
SPORT AWARD, presented by Edward Boateng, Executive Chairman, Global Media AllianceWinner: Ayodeji Adeyemi, Tell Magazine, NigeriaTitle: Game of Gold
TELEVISION - GENERAL NEWS - FEATURE/CURRENT AFFAIRS AWARD, presented by Joyce Mhaville, Managing Director, IPP Media, TanzaniaWinner: John-Allan Namu and James Moturi Mogaka, Kenya Television NetworkTitle: In the Shadow of the Mungiki
TELEVISION - GENERAL NEWS - NEWS BULLETIN AWARD, presented by Ian Petrie, British Airways, Area Commercial Manager for AfricaWinner: John Benson Mwangi and John-Allan Namu, Kenya Television Network Title: Inside Story: Scars and Sufurias
TOURISM AWARD, presented by Jabu Mabuza, Chairperson of the South African Tourism BoardWinner: Fredrick Mugira, Freelance for Mail & Guardian Online, South Africa Title: Riding Boda Boda in Uganda
The CNN African Journalist of the Year Award was founded in 1995 by Edward Boateng (formerly African Regional Director for Turner Broadcasting System Inc., CNN's parent company) and the late Mohamed Amin, to recognise and encourage excellence in journalism throughout Africa.
Source:Global Media Alliance

No comments: