Wednesday, August 19, 2009

NPP’s Kofi Asare winner of Akwatia polls

The Electoral Commission has declared Dr. Kofi Asare of the New Patriotic Party winner of the Akwatia Constituency Parliamentary seat after he bagged 17,900 votes in collated results from the December 7, 2008 election and those of Tuesday, August 18 rerun in six polling centres.The National Democratic Congress’ Baba Jamal polled 15,860 votes from the two polls to place second ahead of Messrs Samuel Agyei of the Convention People’s Party, Basil Ahiable and Mr Samuel Abrokwah, both independents.Meanwhile NDC National Chairman, Dr. Kwabena Adjei has indicated that while the party has no qualms about Tuesday’s election that completed the December elections, the party was displeased at a seeming disinterest in a petition it has lodged with the EC over some four polling centres in the constituency that recorded ‘astronomical voter turnouts’ in December.He said the party has legitimate reasons to believe that things were not done properly and the EC, being an electoral institution and aware that a voter turnout of 98 per cent was abnormal, should have resorted to ‘a more rational decision’ in order to forestall any untoward consequences.“They can go ahead and swear him, and we will go ahead and pursue the case.”

No comments: